Home News All set for the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards

All set for the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards

Mthandazo Nyoni (third from left) posing for a picture at the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards.

All is now set for the third edition of the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards (ZAMA) to be held tomorrow the 30th of July 2021. The awards are organised by ZAS in collaboration with Mejrkh Communications and Media Advisory.  

Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Senator Monica Mutsvangwa is the Guest of Honour while the Deputy Minister of Lands, Agriculture, Fisheries, Water and Rural Resettlement Honourable Douglas Karoro is the guest speaker.

The awards which are virtual, will be streamed on YAFM facebook page and Great Dyke TV beginning at 12 pm. 

Mejrkh Head of Advisory Services and Programmes Joseph Muramba said this year’s awards are special as they are being held on the backdrop of a successful agricultural season.

“The media has been able to follow the story of a highly successful and record breaking season in terms of harvest. In the process of that reportage some have excelled and these are the journalists who will be honoured tomorrow.

“While its celebration time for the winners, it’s also a chance for fellow journalists who have not made it this time to go back to the drawing board and come back stronger for the fourth edition of the awards next year, which in essence is the purpose of theawards to capacitate the scribes and help them develop professionally.

“Picking it up from now there is a lot of stories to write on grain deliveries, marketing of crops and prevention of post-harvestlosses while those farmers who have sold their produce will be procuring inputs for the coming agricultural season,” he said.

The third edition of ZAMA saw 109 entries received from 10 categories which is an increase of 27 entries from the 82 received across 13 categories last year.

The journalists are vying for awards in eleven categories including the Overall Agriculture Sector Best Reporter of the year. He is a full list of the categories

1.​Tobacco Sector Best Reporter Award

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

2.​Cotton Sector Best Reporter Award

3.​Wheat and Cereals Sector Best Reporter Award 

4.​Oilseeds and Horticulture Sector Best Reporter Award

5.​Small Grains Sector Best Reporter Award 

6.​Beef and Dairy Sector Best Reporter Award

7.​Poultry Sector Best Reporter Award

8.​Agricultural Finance and Development Best Reporter Award

9.​Sustainable Agriculture and Climate Change Best Reporter Award 

10.​Agricultural Equipment, Mechanisation, Irrigation, Storage and Innovation Best Reporter Award: 

11.​Overall Agricultural Sector Best Reporter Award: 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here