Home Mining Mining Media Awards Call for Entries Closing Next Week

Mining Media Awards Call for Entries Closing Next Week

file picture northenminer

The organisers of the 2022 edition of the Mining Media Awards has announced that the Mining Media Awards call for entries will close on Tuesday the 20th of   September ahead of the event to be held on the 14th of October at the Rainbow Towers in Harare.

In a statement, Minex Public Relations and Communications Executive Moses Charedzera said this year’s Mining Media Awards running under the theme ‘Building Convergence on Mining Value by Media and Miners’ are important because they come at a time there is misalignment between some mining companies, the media
 and other stakeholders on understanding on the metal accounting system.

“The theme for this year’s awards is poignant considering the discord between the media and some stakeholders in understanding the metal accounting system for platinum group metals (PGM) producers. There are allegations of under declaration of mineral and low beneficiation by the miners and all the misconceptions need to be clarified.

“It is more important than ever before for platinum miners and the media to reach a common understanding of the mineral processing value chain and how miners are even utilizing value to uplift communities,” he said.

Charedzera also urged journalists who haven’t yet submitted their entries to do so before the submission deadline on Tuesday 20 September 2022.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

“We urge journalists to use the remaining days to submit their entries. We know due to pressure in the newsroom some might not have had the opportunity to submit their entries but we want to remind the scribes that you have to be in it to win it.

“So we are expecting more entries to be submitted on Monday and on the last day Tuesday,” he said.

The invited guest of honour at the awards is the Mines and Mining Development Minister Winston Chitando.

The categories for this year’s Mining Media Awards are gold sector best reporter award, platinum sector best reporter award, diamond sector best reporter award, lithium sector best reporter award, small scale and artisanal mining award, corporate social responsibility and sustainability award, coal and gas best reporter award, chrome sector best reporter award, mining financial reporter award and overall mining sector reporter of the year award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here