Home Health Breaking: SA Closes Borders.

Breaking: SA Closes Borders.


South Africa has closed its borders to nationals of countries worst-affected by COVID-19 and banned large public gatherings, while Kenya has also imposed sweeping travel restrictions.

The measures are an attempt to prevent a major COVID-19 outbreak on a continent with poor health services.

At least 26 African states have so far been affected by coronavirus. Several African states have imposed far-reaching restrictions in a bid to curb the spread of deadly virus.

In an address to the nation on Sunday, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa declared a national disaster as the number of cases rose to 61.

“Initially, it was people who had travelled out of the country, especially from Italy, who had positively tested for the virus,” he said.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

“It is concerning that we are now dealing with internal transmission of the virus,” Mr. Ramaphosa said.

Mr Ramaphosa said he would chair a government command council that would “coordinate all aspects of our extraordinary emergency response”.

Among the measures he announced are:

  • The closure of nearly half – 35 out of 72 – of South Africa’s land border crossings from Monday, along with two of its eight sea ports
  • Banning foreign nationals from eight countries – including the UK and US – from entering South Africa from Wednesday
  • Advising people to avoid domestic travel
  • Shutting all schools with immediate effect until the end of the Easter holidays
  • Banning all public gatherings of more than 100 with immediate effect. This forces the cancellation of the biggest annual event in South Africa – an Easter religious service attended by several million followers of the Zionist Christian Church at its headquarters in northern Limpopo province.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here