Home News Mining Media Awards 2021 Winners

Mining Media Awards 2021 Winners


ALPHA Media Holdings (AMH) journalists this year dominated the Mining Media Awards after scooping five gongs.

The Standard reporter Tatenda Chitagu scooped three awards namely, the Gold Sector Best Reporter Award, Best Reporter in the Coal and Gas sector, and Overall Mining Media Awards Best Reporter Award.

NewsDay business reporter Fidelity Mhlanga scooped the Platinum sector Best Reporter of the year award.

Jairos Saunyama of the Standard also scooped the Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability Award.

Addressing the virtual Awards held in the capital, Minister of Mines and Mining Development Winston Chitando said media is key to the achievement of the 12 billion milestone of 2023 hence there is need for enhanced synergies.

‘I would like to congratulate the winners and look forward to continuing to work with members of the fourth estate as we soldier on towards the achievement of the 12 billion milestone of 2023 and in the process towards the achievement of His Excellency’s Vision 2030.

“The media awards are very special to me because the time when we started thinking about having this particular function was a time when I was the President of the Chamber of Mines of Zimbabwe and I remember talking and brainstorming with Munyaradzi Hwengwere ( Mejrkh Lead Consultant) on the possibility of having these media awards. 

“I am pleased to say we managed to come up with this award ceremony which recognizes the importance of the media in the development of the country in general and in the development of the mining industry in particular,” said the Minister.

Speaking during the same event, Deputy Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Hon Kindness Paradza said the awards are a platform for stronger relations between the media and mining companies.

“We are gratified that the awards will build stronger relations between the media and the mining sector. We see the Mining Media Awards as a platform that brings the mining value chain together with the media to create a harmonious relationship and synergies for sustainable economic growth.

“We need a media that discharges its duty objectively and factually, highlighting in equal measure the successes and failures of the sector. Obviously, the media cannot be a passive recipient of information but should be one that is interrogative and investigative,” he said.

The Mining Media Awards is an annual event organised by the MEJRKH Communications and Media Advisory in partnership with the Chamber of Mines of Zimbabwe and several sponsors. The awards are supported by the Mines and Information Ministries.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Below is the list of winners and category sponsors.

1. Gold Sector Best Reporter Award: Tatenda Chitagu of The Standard , the award was sponsored by Fredda Rebecca.

2. Small Scale and Artisanal Miners Best Reporter Award: Fungai Lupande of The Herald, sponsored by Golden Reef.

3. Platinum Sector Best Reporter Award
  Fidelity Mhlanga of AMH ,sponsored by Zimplats.

4. Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability Award: 
Jairos Saunyama of The Standard ,sponsored by Caledonia Mining Corporation.

5. Coal and Gas Best Reporter Award: 
Tatenda Chitagu of The Standard, sponsored by Zambezi Coal and Gas.

6. Diamond Sector Best Reporter Award:  
Ishemunyoro Chingwere of The Herald, sponsored by Zimbabwe Consolidated Diamond Company.

7. Chrome Sector Best Reporter Award: 
Mthokozisi Dube of ZBC, sponsored by Zimasco

8. Health and Safety Best Reporter Award: 
 Gibson Mhaka of Chronicle, sponsored by Mimosa

Overall Mining Sector Reporter of the Year Award: 
Tatenda Chitagu of The Standard, sponsored by Unki.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here