Home News Second Edition Of ZAMA Awards Set for August.

Second Edition Of ZAMA Awards Set for August.

Mthandazo Nyoni (third from left) posing for a picture at the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards.

THE second edition of the Zimbabwe Agricultural Media Awards (ZAMA) has been moved forward to 28 August this year due to the replanning needed to host the event in light of the COVID- 19 pandemic and the subsequent lockdown imposed by government.

The awards, which are organised by the Zimbabwe Agricultural Society, were first held last year on 28 June.

“While ZAS is known for hosting big showgoers’ events like the Zimbabwe Agricultural Show and the Farmers Festival, we have however noted the changes to our business model foisted upon by COVID-19 which is limiting gatherings of large crowds.

To us this is an opportunity to incorporate technology while reasserting our role as one of the most significant agricultural sector players, bringing together stakeholders and the media.”

“We are committed to promoting capacitation of the media to enhance quality of reportage for the benefit of the agriculture sector stakeholders,” he said.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Sponsors and shortlisted nominees will attend the awards to be hosted in Harare but ZAS will ensure strict adherence to recommended COVID- 19 guidelines. This year ZAS has introduced two new categories to the second edition of the ZAMA.

The newly introduced categories are the Horticulture Best Reporter Award and Sugarcane Best Reporter Award, which brings the number of award categories to 15 including the Overall Agriculture Sector Best Reporter Award.

The full list of awards is:

  1. Tobacco Sector Best Reporter Award 2. Cotton Sector Best Reporter Award 3. Wheat and Cereals Sector Best
    Reporter Award
  2. Sugarcane Sector Best reporter award
  3. Oilseeds Sector Best Reporter Award
  4. Small Grains Sector Best Reporter Award
  5. Dairy Sector Best Reporter Award
  6. Beef Sector Best Reporter Award
  7. Small Ruminants Sector Best Reporter Award 10. Poultry Sector Best Reporter Award
  8. Agriculture Finance and Development Best Reporter Award
  9. Sustainable Agriculture and Climate Change Best Reporter Award
  10. Agricultural Equipment, Mechanisation, Irrigation, Storage and Innovation Best Reporter Award
  11. Horticulture Best Reporter Award
  12. Overall Agricultural Sector Best Reporter Award.
    Dr Masuka says the changes have been made to accommodate two important agricultural sectors while widening the scope for reportage by journalists.
    “We have introduced these two additional categories and have also separated Livestock Best Reporter Award to Beef Best Reporter Award and Dairy Best Reporter Award as these are two separate sub sectors that play a significant role in agriculture,” he said.
    At the inaugural edition of ZAMA last year, Alpha Media Holdings reporter Mthandazo Nyoni won the Overall Agriculture Sector Best Reporter Award and three other sectoral awards at a glittering ceremony held in the capital.
    The awards are generously sponsored by corporates, and a call has now been made to those. Reporters can now submit their entries. The judging process shall take place in July.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here