Home News Fourth Edition of ZAMA Awards Slated For 22 July 2022

Fourth Edition of ZAMA Awards Slated For 22 July 2022

Mthandazo Nyoni (third from left) posing for a picture at the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards.

The Zimbabwe Agricultural Society (ZAS) and Mejrkh Communications and Media Advisory, the organisers of the Zimbabwe Agriculture Media Awards (ZAMA), have slated the fourth edition of the awards on the 22 of July 2022 at Andy Millar Hall at the showgrounds in Harare.

The organisers of the awards which recognise media excellence among journalists reporting agriculture have encouraged media practitioners to submit their entries before the 30 June deadline.

“Last year we received an overwhelming number of entries for the awards. 109 entries were received, which was 27 more received in the previous year. With more media houses coming on board, we expect the number of entries to increase as well as the competition.

“Since inception in 2019 the awards have indeed grown to be the premier accolades for journalists covering the agriculture beat. So we are urging the journalists to choose from their best pieces which are well written, well sourced, well balanced and complete. The articles should be submitted by the 30th of June 2022 which is the deadline for submission,” said Mejrkh Public Relations and Communication Executive Moses Charedzera.

Vice President Constantino Chiwenga is the invited guest at the 2022 edition of the awards.

The awards are being held at a time when shocks are being experienced in the agriculture value chain due to the geopolitical conflict between Russia and Ukraine, impacting adversely on the supply and pricing of agricultural commodities such as wheat and cooking oil.

Domestically, Zimbabwe also experienced production constraints imposed by erratic rainfall in the 2021/2022 season that have reduced cereal production by 43 percent.

Prizes are up for grabs in nine categories with the winners in each category automatically qualifying for the grand prize, the Overall Agricultural Sector Best Reporter Award. The categories are:

Tobacco Sector Best Reporter Award

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Cotton Sector Best Reporter Award

Horticulture and Oilseeds Sector Best Reporter Award

Small Grains Sector Best Reporter Award

Dairy and Beef Sector Best reporter Award

Poultry Sector Best Reporter Award

Agricultural Finance and Development Best Reporter Award

Sustainable Agriculture and Climate Change Best Reporter Award

Agricultural Equipment, Mechanisation, Irrigation, Storage and Innovation Best Reporter Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here