Home News New Legislators Take Oath of Office

New Legislators Take Oath of Office


In a ceremony held today, Zimbabwe’s newly elected legislators were sworn in, vowing to steer the nation towards prosperity and uphold the values of democracy.

The newly elected parliamentarians took oath of office following the August 23 harmonised elections.

Zanu PF secured a total of 136 parliamentary seats while obtaining an additional 33 seats from the women’s proportional representation and seven from the youth quota. The CCC won 73 seats and acquired 27 seats through women’s proportional representation and three through the youth quota.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to get the latest GreatDyke news updates

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

A by-election in Gutu West constituency is set to increase the National Assembly’s total membership to 280 after the passing away of one candidate before polling day. The Senate comprises 33 senators from Zanu PF and 27 from the CCC. Additionally, 18 chiefs and two representatives of people with disabilities will join the 60 senators from the political parties.

The swearing-in ceremony, overseen by Clerk of Parliament Kenneth Chokuda, took place in groups of ten legislators at a time. Following the oaths, members of both houses will proceed to elect their respective presiding officers on Friday. Advocate Jacob Mudenda served as the Speaker of the previous Parliament, while Marble Chinomona held the position of Senate President.

The swearing-in of the MPs follows the inauguration of President Mnangagwa on Monday after his and Zanu PF’s victory in the harmonised elections held last month.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here